Norse Pantheon – The Lords of Rock


norse-logoNorse mythology comes from the northernmost part of Europe, Scandinavia: Sweden, Norway, Denmark, and Iceland. The mythology of this region is grim, shadowed by long, sunless winters. But the darkness is laced with gleams of grandeur and sparks of humor. The myths depict a universe in which gods and giants battle among themselves in a cosmic conflict fated to end in the destruction of the world.

The Norse gods and goddesses have all the characteristics of larger-than-life human beings. Unlike the Greek deities, however, they seldom interact with human beings. The world of Norse mythology includes two groups of gods, the Aesir and the Vanir, as well as giants, trolls, elves, dwarfs, and heroic human warriors.

The Nordic gods must win the Battle of the Bands to fight of eternal winter and earn ultimate Glory!

The twelve Norse Gods in the battle of the bands are:

  • Sif: goddess of harvest
  • Loki: god of mischief
  • Balder: god of beauty, innocence, peace, and rebirth
  • Frigg: goddess of marriage and motherhood
  • Thor: god of thunder and battle
  • Tyr: god of war and of the skies
  • Freya: goddess of love, fertility, and battle
  • Heimdall: guardian of Asgard
  • Skadi: goddess of winter
  • Odin: The “All Father” god of war, associated with wisdom, poetry, and magic (The Ruler of the gods)
  • Hel: Queen of Helheim, the Norse underworld
  • Lofn:  Goddess of forbidden loves.

Comments are closed.